Apply

Academic Calendar

Full Academic Calendar

For a complete listing of all academic dates and deadlines (powered by 25Live), you can visit our full academic calendar.

Below are key dates and deadlines for 2022–2023 academic year.

Please note, dates may be subject to change.

Fall 2023

Date Announcement
Aug. 24–27 Residence halls open, students to move in during their designated time block. See move-in information.
Aug. 25–26 Orientation Preview Session 5
Aug. 25 Final registration
Aug. 26–27 First- year Student Start Strong
Aug. 28 Classes begin
Sep. 4 Labor Day – University Holiday
Oct. 5–6
Fall Break Begins (Thursday and Friday classes will be made-up on December 12 and 13)
Oct. 9 Classes resume
Oct. 20–22 Hawktober
Nov. 18 Thanksgiving recess begins*
Nov. 27 Classes resume
Dec. 12 Thursday Fall Break Make-Up Day
Dec. 13 Friday Fall Break Make-Up Day
Dec. 13 Classes end
Dec. 14 Final examinations begin**
Dec. 20 Final examinations end
Dec. 21 Residence halls close at 10 a.m.

Below are more important dates to help you plan ahead.

Date Announcement
May 15–June 28 Summer Session I*
July 5–August 15 Summer Session II**

*No class will be held on Friday and Monday, May 26 and 29, bordering the Memorial Day weekend; or on Juneteenth—Monday, June 19.

**No class will be held on Monday and Tuesday, July 3 and 4, for Independence Day.

Date Announcement
Dec. 26 Winterterm Online classes begin
Jan. 2 Winterterm On-campus classes begin
Jan. 12 Winterterm ends

Please note: Online courses start Dec. 26, 2023, and end Jan. 12, 2024.

Date Day Announcement
Jan. 15 Monday Residence halls open (students to return during their designated time block)
Jan. 15 Monday Martin Luther King Day – University Holiday
Jan. 16 Tuesday Registration Day
Jan. 17 Wednesday Classes begin
Mar. 9 Saturday Spring recess begins* (All residence halls will remain open.)
Mar. 18 Monday Classes resume
April 30
Tuesday Classes end
May 1 Wednesday Reading Day
May 2 Thursday Final examinations begin**
May 8 Wednesday Final examinations end
May 9 Thursday Residence halls close @ 10 a.m. for students not participating in Commencement
May 12 Monday Residence halls close @ 8 p.m. for students participating in Commencement
Note: Final exam schedule includes Saturday as a scheduled exam day.

Please note, dates may be subject to change.